Emotionally Focused Therapy for Couples

When we think about relationships, our minds tend to wonder and thoughts of broken marriages, divorce, and long-term relationships come to mind. Whether most people want to openly admit it or not relationships take hard work and requires understanding along with dedication to make it work. So, what initially drew me into becoming a therapist in the field of marriage and family therapy, was the struggles in my own marriage which ultimately ended in divorce. During my divorce, I went through various ranges of emotions from feeling angry to feeling helpless. As I experienced my own lost through my marriage ending, that was when I made a decision to help other couples struggling in their marriages or on the verge of divorce. After placing careful thought into how divorce or the possibility of divorce can affect someone in all areas of their lives, I came to realize that emotions running rampant was the issue. I recently attended a live session which focused on EFT (Emotionally Focused Therapy) and this is a method founded by Dr. Sue Johnson in Ottawa, Canada. Dr. Johnson explains that sometimes marriage is or can be very difficult especially working with difficult couples. EFT focuses on meeting clients where they are in the relationship and how to allow the couple the opportunity to have their emotions explored as well as affirmed. In my practice, I plan to utilize the (EFT) method with my clients, so that I can help build stronger bonds within the marriages of my clients through honest and open communication. So, as we come to certain crossroads within our relationships, having an understanding of our own emotions is a great start!

Write a comment

Comments: 0